Home Sports IPL Final Match History

IPL Final Match History

6 min read
Indian Premier League (IPL)

IPL Final Match History

The introduction of Indian Premier League (IPL) amidst much fanfare in 2008 had changed the face of the game in more ways than one. Gone are the days when cricket fans had to spend 8-10 hours a day to watch a one-day match from start to finish. With its Twenty20 format, this cricket tournament gave the perfect stage to cricketers from around the world to showcase their talent. Be it the swashbuckling batsmen who scored 4’s and 6’s as if they were nothing more than a child’s play, the bowlers who showed magic with the ball beating the odds, and fielders taking catches, some of which were simply unbelievable, the IPL made it all possible for the cricket-crazy public to lap up with full frenzy. With a party-like atmosphere where loud music with infectious beats played in between the overs and big hits or the fall of wickets were celebrated by the dazzling dance moves of the cheerleaders, the IPL gave the cricket lovers a complete entertainer.

Now, with the conclusion of the 7th season a few days ago, it’s the ideal time to take a look back at the history of IPL finals.

Season 7

It was hosted between 16th April and 1st June 2014by India and UAE. The final match was played on 1st June (Sunday) between Kings XI Punjab and Kolkata Knight Riders at Bengaluru’s M. Chinnaswamy Stadium. Kolkata Knight Riderswon by 3 wickets. It was their second IPL title win.

Season 6

Different cities of India played host to IPL 6, which was held from 3rd April to 26thMay 2013. Eden Gardens, Kolkata was the venue of the final match which was played between Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians on 26th May (Sunday). The former was defeated by the latter by 23 runs. This was the first title win for Mumbai Indians.

Season 5

This IPL too was hosted by different Indian cities from 4thApril to 27thMay, 2012. Chennai’s M. A. Chidambaram Stadium witnessed how Kolkata Knight Riders battled it out with Chennai Super Kingson a Sunday to win by 5 wickets and lift their first IPL title.

Season 4

IPL 4 had both its inaugural and final matches at Chennai’s M. A. Chidambaram Stadium. Held from 8th April till 28th May 2011, it saw the defending champions -Chennai Super Kings, lift their second consecutive title. The team defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore by 58 runs on a Saturday, which was somewhat of a deviation from the usual trend of organizing the finals on Sundays.

Season 3

DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai played host to the inaugural and final matches of IPL 3. This season, the matches were played in various Indian cities between 12th March and 25th April, 2010. Chennai Super Kings defeated Mumbai Indians by 22 runs to taste their first victory in IPL. This final too, like many of its predecessors, was played on a Sunday.

Season 2

Due to General elections in India,matches of IPL 2 were hosted by South Africa. Spread over a period of 37 days from 18th April to 24thMay 2009, this season saw Deccan Chargers emerge as the winner. In the final match held at the New Wanderers Stadium, Johannesburgon 24thMay 2009(Sunday), Deccan Chargers beat Royal Challengers Bangalore by 6 runs to take home the title.

Season 1

The inaugural season took place from 18thApril to 1stJune 2008 in different cities of India. The final match was played at Navi Mumbai’s DY Patil Stadium on 1stJune (Sunday) where Rajasthan Royals defeated Chennai Super Kings by 3 wickets to lift the title.






Load More Related Articles
Load More By admin
Load More In Sports

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also

20 Ways To Relax Your Mind And Body

It has been found that those who relax and meditate for a while can do the same job with l…